Living Within the Pages – Book Review #6

9 11 2010

Title: Destined for an Early Grave

Author: Jeaniene Frost

Series: Night Huntress (#4)

Amazon Rating: 4.5

Goodreads Rating: 4.41

Alex’s Rating: 4.25

I have finished the last of the Night Huntress series, and there is no other way to put this, but I am devastated! I know some series get over-anxious readers and creepy fans, but I just can’t help but understand how they feel when it comes to this series. I know many people scoff at PNR (paranormal romance), but it is because they are either too embarrassed to read it, or they don’t appreciate the world and character building that some of these authors go through, and honestly succeed in creating.

Perhaps it is because I am a vampire fan or because I enjoy a love story, but this series delivers on both ends. It is fast-paced, kick-ass, sexy, thrilling, sad, heart-wrenching, and just plain fun. Yes, I said it, FUN.

Back to my review; this book had me on my toes, let me tell you. It also had me peeking ahead to make sure things turned out how I wanted them to because the tension build was excruciating. Cat and Bones are one of my favorite couples of all time. They are a power couple to the extreme and I love their chemistry and dynamic. I love everything about how Frost writes them together, their witty banter, and sexual tension. What I don’t like is when they fight, and wow, did this book have them at each other’s throats (pun intended). There was a large chunk of the book that has them fighting and essentially broken up, and like I said earlier, I had to look ahead to make sure things turned out because I was so upset by this. I realize why Frost did it, how it plays into the story, but I couldn’t help but be upset.

After things are resolved, a change happens that I’m sure not many of us thought to happen (if you know anything of Charlaine Harris’s Sookie Stackhouse), yet I am glad it did. It will add an entirely new dimension and plot capabilities to the continued novels in the NH series.

On a more encompassing note, this book is again about how Cat is being targeted. But unlike the other three books, her pursuer doesn’t want her dead, well at least not undead. His name is Gregor—he is a tall, attractive, and brooding vampire from Cat’s past that she doesn’t remember. He visits her in her dreams, enticing her to come to him and leave Bones behind. This may not seem very threatening, but after reading, this dream entrapment has led to some of Cat’s most dangerous escape adventures and all-out brawls as Bones fights Cat’s former…(I’ll let you fill in the blank after you read for fear of revealing too much).

If you have read the first three books then you will know that this (of course!) is not the only plotline. There is another war brewing, disturbances within the ghoul community and how Cat plays or presumably plays into that as well. How will Cat and Bones get out of some of their messiest debacles? Read and find out! I sure enjoyed every word and every page!

Overall, this book was wonderful and I enjoyed every minute of it. I absolutely love this series and that is saying something. You will NOT be disappointed. And if you are, I would love to have a conversation about it!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

