Living Within the Pages – Book Review #3

5 11 2010

Title: Halfway to the Grave

Author: Jeaniene Frost

Series: Night Huntress (#1)

Amazon Rating: 4.5

Goodreads Rating: 4.29

My Rating: 5

Halfway to the Grave is the first installment of Jeaniene Frost’s Night Huntress series. In this first book we are introduced to the lead female character, Cat Crawfield, a half-human half-vampire hybrid. She found out at 16 that her mother was raped by a vampire and five months later…boom…she was born. She never felt like she fit in and in her small town everyone judged her mother for having a child out of wedlock, and judged Cat for being the bastard child.

By the end of the first chapter, a mystery vampire appears and kidnaps Cat. We come to find out in the next chapter that the vampire in question is Bones, the lead male in this series and Cat’s future love interest. Cat is determined to find her deadbeat father, and in return for Bones’ help in accomplishing this task she will help him hunt the undead that are on his own personal hit list.

As you can guess, the next chapters unfold with the training and relationship building of Cat and Bones. We get witty banter and sexy dialogue that have Cat questioning everything her mother drilled into her head about all vampires being evil. Bones has become her partner in crime and in the romantic sense by the middle of the book.

There is never a dull moment in this novel. When Cat and Bones aren’t staking out the night and hunting, they are entangled in some other mess albeit personal, emotional, or in some other way breaking the law. The book comes to a head when Cat and Bones face off against one of the cruelest undead ringleaders Bones has ever come across and they may not live to see one another again. You will just have to read the rest to see if they come out dead, half-dead, or undead.

_____________________

My thoughts: I began this book while I was in London for two weeks, buying it on impulse with a 40% off coupon I had from Borders about a month ago. I had already read J.R. Ward’s Black Dagger Brotherhood and I was in the middle of Lara Adrian’s Midnight Breed series. (Catching a little bit of a theme and preference on my end? Yes, I like vampires. No, I don’t know why.) The coupon was to buy two paperbacks for 40% off and I bought the first two Night Huntress (Halfway to the Grave and One Foot in the Grave) and the first Dark-Hunter by Sherrilyn Kenyon (that one was thoroughly disappointing though).

Anyway, back to my review. I had just finished the last available Midnight Breed book about Brock and I was still on a vampire kick so I started Halfway to the Grave. At first, I didn’t know how I felt about the Cat. Her circumstances definitely led to heavy sarcasm and bitterness, but at first I wasn’t sure how her character would play out. I understand being hardened , but sometimes she was overkill (no pun intended). That was…until Bones entered the story (quickly, thank God) and their dynamic was fabulous.

Now, I am a picky reader. Most things I read if I am not totally into the plot, world, and character building, they get 3 stars, and that is being generous. Although I did truly enjoy Midnight Breed, most of the books just warranted 3 stars, I was too hesitant to give a full-fledged 4 stars. This book however, was a 5. The relationship between Cat and Bones was electrifying, sexy, witty, and down-right great. Bones being English definitely helped I’m sure, but just how Frost wrote their characters into co-existing and co-fighting the “bad” guys just worked really well for me. Of course there were plot problems, of course I didn’t like Cat’s mother, and of course things can always be improved, but overall this was a great read.

I just finished the last of the series (all four books read in less than a week–those reviews to come as well) and I was devastated that I have to wait until next spring for the next Cat & Bones installment.

If you LOVED J.R. Ward’s BDB. If you LIKED/LOVED Lara Adrian’s Midnight Breed, then you will absolutely LOVE this series. Like I said, I am picky, but this series did not disappoint. Go buy them, and if you are not infatuated, I will be extremely surprised.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

